• Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • YouTube Clean Grey

© 2023 by Make Some Noise. Proudly created with Wix.com

13th Annual Guilded Leaf Luncheon Author line up announced

July 21, 2017

 

Join the Carmel Clay Public Library Foundation Guild as they present The 13th Annual Guilded Leaf Program and Luncheon.  

 

Writers at the Pavilion takes place October 18, 2017, from  7:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. The Ritz Charles Garden Pavilion will serve as the venue for the evening event, featuring short talks by the authors themselves, and book signings by the Guilded Leaf authors who have now been announced. Ticket price of $70 includes appetizers, wine and craft beer. Call 317/814-3984 to reserve your spot.

 

The Guilded Leaf Book and Author Luncheon is the next day, October 19, 2017, from 9:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. Again at the Ritz Charles, this is Carmel's best event for book lovers, featuring six nationally known best-selling authors sharing their stories about life, writing and books. Come early to participate in the raffle and silent auction, and purchase the authors' books for personalized signings.

 

A portion of the book sales directly benefit the Carmel Clay Public Library. Doors open at 9:30 a.m. with the luncheon and program starting at 11:15. Individual tickets are $70. Corporate tables are also available. Call 317/814-3984 to reserve your spot.

 

Winners of the Guilded Leaf Creative Writing Contest for students grades 9-12 will also be honored at the luncheon. Continue to visit the Foundation frequently to get more information on the writing contest as it becomes available. 


The following are the books and author's to be featured at the two events:

 

Children’s Book: Edge of Extinction #2: Code Name Flood by Author Laura Martin

 

Summary: Perfect for fans of Jurassic Park and Jurassic World! Code Name Flood is the electrifying sequel to the Ark Plan, which the School Library Journal praised by saying: “Nonstop action, marauding dinosaurs, and kids on the run. What’s not to like?” Last week, 12-year-old Sky found a cryptic message from her Dad, who mysteriously fled the safety of their underground compound 5 years ago. The note said the fate of the world depended her going topside, to a lost world ruled by dinosaurs. This book is written for Grades 3-7.

 

Author Bio: Laura Martin believes in chasing dreams and she brought that philosophy to her classroom for 6 years as a 7th grade English teacher in Carmel. This is Laura’s second novel and a dream come true. When she isn’t writing stories about dinosaurs and underground

civilizations she can be found in the Indianapolis area with her husband, Josh, her 2 adorable kids, London and Lincoln, and two opinionated bulldogs.

 

Mystery: Miss Kopp’s Midnight Confessions by Author Amy Stewart

 

Summary: Deputy Sheriff Constance Kopp is outraged

to see young women brought into the Hackensack jail over dubious charges of waywardness, incorrigibility, and moral depravity. Such were the laws -and morals of 1916. Constance uses her authority as deputy sheriff, and

occasionally, exceeds it, to investigate and defend women when no one else will. Against the backdrop of World War 1, and drawn from the true story of the Kopp sisters, Midnight Confessions is a spirited page-turning story that will delight fans of historical fiction and lighthearted detective fiction alike.

 

Author Bio: Amy Stewart is the author of 9 books, including 4 NY Times bestsellers. She is the recipient of a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, the American Horticulture Society’s Book Award, and the International Association of Culinary Professionals Food Writing Award. She and her husband, a rare book dealer, live in Eureka, California where they own a book store.

 

Fiction: The Exact Nature of Our Wrongs by Author Janet Peery

 

 

Summary: On a summer’s evening in the blue-collar town of Amicus, Kansas, the Campbell family gathers for a birthday dinner for their ailing patriarch, town judge, Abel Campbell, prepared and hosted by their still-hale mother, Hattie. But when Billy, the youngest sibling- with a history of addiction, grand ideas, and misdemeanors- passes out in his devil’s food cake, the family takes up the unfinished business of Billy’s sobriety. As the older children, Doro, Jesse, Clair Bell, and Gideon- contend with their own failures, they compete for the approval of the elderly parents they adore but can’t quite forgive. This is a warm, dramatic, new novel of a family divided and united by its most vulnerable member.

 

Author Bio: Janet Peery’s first novel was a finalist for the National Book Award. She has received numerous honors for her fiction including the Rosenthal Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Whiting Foundation, the Guggenheim Foundation, and the National Endowment for the Arts, among others. She lives in Cape Charles, Virginia.

 

Debut: Girl in Snow by Author Danya Kukafka

 

Summary: When a beloved high schooler named

Lucinda Hayes is found murdered, no one in her sleepy Colorado suburb is untouched- not the boy who loved her too much, not the girl who wanted her perfect life, not the officer assigned to investigate her murder. In the aftermath of the tragedy, these three indelible characters - Cameron, Jade, and Russ - must confront their darkest secrets in an effort to find solace, the truth, or both. The author offers a brilliant exploration of identity and of the razor-sharp line between love and obsession, between watching and seeing, between truth and memory.

 

Author Bio: Danya Kukafka is a graduate of New York University’s Gallatin School of Individualized Study. She currently works as an assistant editor at Riverhead books. This is her first novel. Paula Hawkins, #1 NY Times Bestselling author, Says ” …..her main characters are richly drawn, her prose is both elegant and eerie- this is an incredibly accomplished debut.”

 

Non-Fiction: The Great Rescue by Author Peter Hernon

 

 Summary: Peter Hernon’s book about American Heroes, an Iconic Ship and Saving Europe during World War 1 is published in commemoration of the centennial of America’s entry into the war. It is the story of the USS Leviathan, the legendary liner turned warship that ferried U.S. soldiers to Europe. The German luxury liner was converted into an armed troop carrier that transported thousands of American Expeditionary Forces to the battlefields of France. The heroic effort to save England and France from almost certain defeat is chronicled through the experiences of the main characters, whose personal stories, many told for the first time, offer a vivid and fresh look at America’s dramatic appearance on the world stage.

 

Author Bio: Peter Hernon has written many books including Under the Influence: The Unauthorized Story of the Anheuser-Busch Dynasty, a NY Times bestseller. Hernon is a former editor of the Chicago Tribune. He received his PhD degree from Indiana University and is a recipient of the ACRL’s Academic/Research Librarian of the Year Award and co-editor of Library & Information Science Research. He and his wife currently live in Dardenne Prairie, Missouri.

 

Non-Fiction: Ranger Games by Author Ben Blum

 

Summary: Ben Blum’s book is an intricate,

 

heartrending. morally urgent crime story like no

other. It is a story of Soldiers, Family, and an Inexplicable Crime. Alex Blum was popular in school, handsome, and a hockey prodigy but despite all this, what Alex wanted most in life was to join the military and become an elite United States Army Ranger. In 2006 Alex achieved his goal but did not make it to Iraq. Instead on that day and in the company of two other Army Rangers and two strangers, he drove to a local bank and committed armed robbery. The obvious question that haunted the Blum family - and the reader- is WHY? In Ranger Games Ben Blum presents a knotty, compelling mystery whose solution likes in the human mind and in the human heart. The suspense lies not just in the mystery of why Alex committed such an

inexplicable crime, but in the author’s agonized realizations, as the family and the cousin he has come to love like a brother, are shattered by what he learns throughout his investigation.

 

Author Bio: Ben Blum was born and raised in Denver, Colorado. He holds a PhD in computer

science from the University of California Berkley, where he is a National Science Foundation

Graduate Research Fellow. He also has a MFA in fiction from New York University, where he

was awarded the New York Times Foundation Fellowship. He lives in Brooklyn with his family

 

The Carmel Clay Public Library Foundation Guild   was formed in 2004 by Donna Adams, Marianne Brocke, Mimi Brookie, Julianne Hunter, Karee Petruzzi, Jan Stanich, Karen Vanneman and retired foundation director Ruth Nisenshal to assist with developing and hosting a signature fundraising event for the benefit of the Library.

 

In 2005, the Guild hosted its first fundraising event "Crème de la Crème" - an art exhibit and silent auction for the benefit of the Library. Also in 2005, the Guild hosted its first annual signature event "The Guilded Leaf" Book and Author Luncheon that has since been held on the fourth Thursday in October.

 

New members are always welcome. Click here for more information. To learn more about the Guild, contact Liz Hamilton @ (317) 814-3905 or ehamilton@carmel.lib.in.us.

Please reload

Featured Posts 

Danny Boy unveils new East Coast Fusion kitchen

November 20, 2019

1/10
Please reload

Recent Posts 

November 16, 2019

November 16, 2019

November 10, 2019

Please reload

Serach By Tags